Bringing people together

I dig what Tantek has to say at IndieWeb Summit. I am not there, all I have are his slides he posted online, directly after giving his speech, I suppose. I get one major point:

We are not just a set of individuals, we are a community

  • work to empower ourselves
  • collaborate to empower each other
  • share to empower beyond those we know

Here, in the last bullet, he addresses the major factor that distinguishes so-called Social Media forms from the truly social independet web. It’s social.

In most Social Media platforms you tend to hang arounf folks you already know, plus a few people who are internet famous, maybe.

When you link in the open web, you link people together, people that may never have heard from each other. You are building the global social fabric. You are bringing people together!

This is huge.

