Super-advanced at naming files

One thing is how you handle your public feed online, organising your data on your local devices is quite another. If you consider the profession of the librarian, it could be said to be a science. If you think of an advertising agency’s portfolio presentation on the other hand, you could think of it as an art.

Either way, one of the best approaches to the problem I have ever encountered is what Douglas Barone calls the File Info Base Manager or short FSIM.

It is well worth a read, specially if you use a computer to create works of art of any kind.

In his description Douglas refers to Amber as his inspiration for parts of the system. He links to the threads on the Scrivener forums where the originating discussion took place. It is quite some time commitment to read through all that, but if you are strongly interested in this sort of topic, again, worth a read.

In those threads Amber herself refers to a software developer, who she cites as her inspiration for parts of her system. And on it goes. Interesting folks that bunch of geeks.

The first time – I think to remember – when I encountered such a description of that kind of system to organise one’s local data was Merlin Mann’s article My txt setup. I enjoyed it a lot.

Later, when I encountered Doug’s system I couldn’t help but think that Merlin had read those old threads on the Scrivener forums himself. Specially, since I recognised some forum member’s nicknames from his own, now defunct forum on 43folders.com. I surely found Merlin’s system inspired by Amber as well.

Merlin himself seems to have inspired MacSparky’s system for his plain text files sorting on Notational Velocity.

Even more later on I found the system of Dr Bunsen and I am pretty sure, although I cannot prove it scientifically, that he also has read all that stuff. I can attest however, that his piece inspired me to use the verb “glob” instead of “grep” – the chance to mildly bewilder some *nixers by using the name of a command line tool is just too good.